Hall of Fame recipients named

Medina High School’s Hall of Fame committee recently selected the Hall of Fame inductees for 2010. The Hall of Fame recognizes Medina High School graduates who have made important contributions and who have provided extraordinary service to their community and chosen field, and to also recognize non-graduates who have served as positive role models for Medina City School District students and have significantly promoted and supported the district. Inductees are selected from the following categories: Academic/Career/Life Accomplishments, Athletic Accomplishments, Cultural/Performing Arts, Major Contributions to the Medina City Schools, and Special Honorary Achievement. The inductees are: William G. Batchelder, Sherry Gifford Martin, Linda Ocepek, Jay Peters.

William Batchelder was chosen for the category Academic/Career/Life Accomplishments. He is a 1960 graduate of Medina High School, has had a distinguished career as an attorney, state legislator, and judge. Representative Batchelder is currently serving his third consecutive term in the Ohio House of Representatives for the 69th Ohio House District and was elected by his colleagues to serve as Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives. He spent 31 years at the law firm of Williams and Batchelder in Medina while serving as an adjunct professor of law at the University of Akron and at Cleveland State University Levin College of Urban Affairs. Additionally, Representative Batchelder has served as a judge for the Medina County Common Pleas Court, a judge on the Ninth District Court of Appeals, and as a presiding judge on the same court of appeals. He has been recognized in session after session with the coveted Watchdog of the Treasury Award and has received numerous other awards.

Sherry Gifford Martin, a 1983 graduate of Medina High School has been chosen for the category Athletic Accomplishments. During her four years at the high school she was a four year varsity starter in volleyball, was first team All County, All Conference and team MVP. She also played basketball for two years and received All County Honorable Mention. In track she was First Team All County and held the school record for the 1600 meter relay. She received a total of 10 Varsity letters and was Team Captain in all three sports in high school. In addition, she was a member of the National Honor Society. At Malone University she was a four year starter, Team Captain and she ranked 5th in the National NAIA. She was named All-District, All-conference, and Academic All-American, and was in the Who’s Who Among College Students. She was a high school coach at Trinity High School, Medina High School, and Bay Village High School. Currently, she coaches the CVC 17 Black Team which won the 2009 National Championship in volleyball. This was the first national championship for the club and the first in Northeastern Ohio. Sherry made a difference in the “early years’ of women’s athletics and continues to show female athletes the virtues of teamwork, discipline, and dedication.

Linda Ocepek is being recognized in the category of Special Honorary Achievement. She came to Medina in 1972 and spent 33 years as a teacher and administrator in the Medina City Schools. She taught English at Medina High School for 13 years, then became the Secondary Curriculum Coordinator and went on as a building administrator as an associate principal and principal at Medina High School and a principal at Heritage Elementary School. In 2002 she was instrumental in handling the logistics of moving students and teachers out of the existing high school while renovations and additions were being made and then transitioning them back to the renovated areas and the new portion of the high school when all was completed. During her career she served on 14 levy and bond issue committees, negotiated contracts, wrote grants, coordinated proficiency testing and served as president of the Pioneer Conference’s Principal’s Association. In 1993, she became Dr. O upon receiving her Ph.D. Dr. O touched the lives of many teachers, students and community members during her tenure with the district.

Jay Peters a 1983 graduate of Medina High School is being honored in the category of Athletic Accomplishments. In 1983 Jay led the team in winning seven outstanding games which took the team to the 1983 State Semi-final game in Columbus. During their winning streak Jay averaged 75.4% of his field-goal attempts as well as averaging seven rebounds. For his efforts he was named the Gazette MVP. After high school he attended Grove City College, transferring his senior year to Kent State. Upon graduating in 1987, Jay played two years with Athletes in Action while working on his teaching certificate. After receiving his teaching certificate, he became head coach at Strasburg Franklin and in three years had the team in the regionals. Jay currently coaches for the Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy. He has led the school to four regional berths and a Principals Athletic Conference -7 Championship. For his many athletic achievements, he was inducted into the Medina County Hall of Fame 2010. Jay set the standard for the Medina basketball program and continues to motivate those around him to achieve the impossible.

These inductees along with the 2009 inductees will be honored at a dinner at Medina High School on Saturday, April 30, 2011. The 2009 inductees are: Ralph Berry, Jr. (Academic/Career/Life Accomplishments), Michael Davanzo (Special Honorary Achievement), Peter Gensemer (Cultural/Performing Arts), Charles Irish (Special Honorary Achievement), Caroline McCombs (Athletic Accomplishments).




Committee chooses Hall of Fame inductees for 2010